Villarreal CF

Villarreal Club de Fútbol, S.A.D. (Valencian: Vila-real Club de Futbol, S.A.D.), usually abbreviated to Villarreal CF or just Villarreal, is a Spanish professional football club based in Villarreal that plays in La Liga, the top flight of Spanish football.

Founded in 1923, the club spent much of its history in the lower divisions of Spanish football, and only made their La Liga debut in 1998. In the 21st century, Villarreal gained some league stability, and the club made its first appearance in the UEFA Champions League in 2005. The club also appeared in the UEFA Europa League during this time, but sustained relegation in 2012, quickly rebounding and becoming a stable top division club.


  • La Liga
    • Runners-up (1): 2007–08
  • Segunda División
    • Runners-up (1): 2012–13
  • Segunda División B
    • Runners-up (2): 1987–88, 1991–92
  • Tercera División
    • Winners (1): 1970
  • UEFA Champions League
    • Semi-finalists (1): 2005–06
  • UEFA Europa League
    • Semi-finalists (3): 2003–04, 2010–11, 2015–16
    • Quarter-finalists (1): 2018–19
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup
    • Winners (2): 2003, 2004

Current squad

2020/2021 Team Roster
Manager : Unai Emery
Sergio Asenjo (Goalkeeper)
Gerónimo Rulli (Argentina) (Goalkeeper)
Mario Gaspar (captain)
Raúl Albiol
Pau Torres
Dani Parejo
Ramiro Funes Mori (Argentina)
Gerard Moreno
Carlos Bacca (Colombia)
Vicente Iborra
Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria)
Dani Raba
Manu Trigueros
Pervis Estupiñán (Ecuador)
Takefusa Kubo (Japan)
Loans (on loan from Real Madrid)
Real Madrid (January 2021)
Loan Return
Paco Alcácer
Alberto Moreno
Francis Coquelin (France)
Rubén Peña
Jaume Costa
Sofian Chakla (Morocco)
Moi Gómez
Alfonso Pedraza
Ramiro Guerra (Uruguay)
Juan Foyth (Argentina)
Loans (on loan from Tottenham Hotspur)