EFL League One

 North South 
Runner-Up (not promoted)Winner
Runner-Up (not promoted)
1921–22Stockport CountyDarlingtonSouthamptonPlymouth Argyle
1922–23NelsonBradford Park AvenueBristol CityPlymouth Argyle
1923–24Wolverhampton WanderersRochdalePortsmouthPlymouth Argyle
1924–25DarlingtonNelsonSwansea CityPlymouth Argyle
1925–26Grimsby TownBradford Park AvenueReadingPlymouth Argyle
1926–27Stoke CityRochdaleBristol City (2)Plymouth Argyle
1927–28Bradford Park AvenueLincoln CityMillwallNorthampton Town
1928–29Bradford CityStockport CountyCharlton AthleticCrystal Palace
1929–30Port ValeStockport CountyPlymouth ArgyleBrentford
1930–31ChesterfieldLincoln CityNotts CountyCrystal Palace
1931–32Lincoln CityGatesheadFulhamReading
1932–33Hull CityWrexhamBrentfordExeter City
1933–34BarnsleyChesterfieldNorwich CityCoventry City
1934–35Doncaster RoversHalifax TownCharlton Athletic (2)Reading
1935–36Chesterfield (2)Chester CityCoventry CityLuton Town
1936–37Stockport County (2)Lincoln CityLuton TownNotts County
1937–38Tranmere RoversDoncaster RoversMillwall (2)Bristol City
1938–39Barnsley (2)Doncaster RoversNewport CountyCrystal Palace
1939–40Competition abandoned due to World War II
1940–41Competition abandoned due to World War II
1941–42Competition abandoned due to World War II
1942–43Competition abandoned due to World War II
1943–44Competition abandoned due to World War II
1944–45Competition abandoned due to World War II
1945–46Competition abandoned due to World War II
1946–47Doncaster Rovers (2)Rotherham UnitedCardiff CityQueens Park Rangers
1947–48Lincoln City (2)Rotherham UnitedQueens Park RangersBournemouth & Boscombe Athletic
1948–49Hull City (2)Rotherham UnitedSwansea City (2)Reading
1949–50Doncaster Rovers (3)GatesheadNotts County (2)Northampton Town
1950–51Rotherham UnitedMansfield TownNottingham ForestNorwich City
1951–52Lincoln City (3)Grimsby TownPlymouth Argyle (2)Reading
1952–53Oldham AthleticPort ValeBristol RoversMillwall
1953–54Port Vale (2)BarnsleyIpswich TownBrighton & Hove Albion
1954–55Barnsley (3)Accrington StanleyBristol City (3)Leyton Orient
1955–56Grimsby Town (2)Derby CountyLeyton OrientBrighton Hove & Albion
1956–57Derby CountyHartlepool UnitedIpswich Town (2)Torquay United
1957–58Scunthorpe UnitedAccrington StanleyBrighton & Hove AlbionBrentford
Football League Third Division (1958–1992)
Runner Up
Also PromotedPlayoff Winner
1958–59Plymouth Argyle (3)Hull City
1959–60Southampton (2)Norwich City
1961–62Portsmouth (2)Grimsby Town
1962–63Northampton TownSwindon Town
1963–64Coventry City (2)Crystal Palace
1964–65Carlisle UnitedBristol City
1965–66Hull City (2)Millwall
1966–67Queens Park Rangers (2)Middlesbrough
1967–68Oxford UnitedBury
1968–69WatfordSwindon Town
1969–70Leyton Orient (2)Luton Town
1970–71Preston North EndFulham
1971–72Aston VillaBrighton and Hove Albion
1972–73Bolton WanderersNotts County
1973–74Oldham Athletic (2)Bristol RoversYork City
1974–75Blackburn RoversPlymouth ArgyleCharlton Athletic
1975–76Hereford UnitedCardiff CityMillwall
1976–77Mansfield TownBrighton and Hove AlbionCrystal Palace
1977–78WrexhamCambridge UnitedPreston North End
1978–79Shrewsbury TownWatfordSwansea City
1979–80Grimsby Town (3)Blackburn RoversSheffield Wednesday
1980–81Rotherham United (2)BarnsleyCharlton Athletic
1981–82BurnleyCarlisle UnitedFulham
1982–83Portsmouth (3)Cardiff CityHuddersfield Town
1983–84Oxford United (2)WimbledonSheffield United
1984–85Bradford City (2)MillwallHull City
1985–86Reading (2)Plymouth ArgyleDerby County
1986–87AFC BournemouthMiddlesbroughSwindon Town
1987–88SunderlandBrighton and Hove AlbionWalsall
1988–89Wolverhampton Wanderers (2)Sheffield UnitedPort Vale
1989–90Bristol Rovers(2)Bristol CityNotts County
1990–91Cambridge UnitedSouthend UnitedGrimsby TownTranmere Rovers
1991–92Brentford (2)Birmingham CityPeterborough United
Football League Second Division (1992–2004)
Runner Up
Playoff Winner
1992–93Stoke City (2)Bolton WanderersWest Bromwich Albion
1993–94Reading (3)Port ValeBurnley
1994–95Birmingham CityBrentford (not promoted)Huddersfield Town
1995–96Swindon TownOxford UnitedBradford City
1996–97Bury (2)Stockport CountyCrewe Alexandra
1997–98Watford (2)Bristol CityGrimsby Town
1998–99Fulham (2)WalsallManchester City
1999-00Preston North End (2)BurnleyGillingham
2000–01Millwall (3)RotherhamWalsall
2001–02Brighton & Hove Albion (2)ReadingStoke City
2002–03Wigan AthleticCrewe AlexandraCardiff City
2003–04Plymouth Argyle (4)Queens Park RangersBrighton & Hove Albion
EFL League One (2004–)
Runner Up
Playoff Winner
2004–05Luton Town Hull CitySheffield Wednesday
2005–06Southend UnitedColchester UnitedBarnsley
2006–07Scunthorpe United Bristol CityBlackpool
2007–08Swansea City Nottingham ForestDoncaster Rovers
2008–09Leicester CityPeterborough UnitedScunthorpe United
2009–10Norwich City Leeds UnitedMillwall
2010–11Brighton & Hove Albion SouthamptonPeterborough United
2011–12Charlton Athletic Sheffield WednesdayHuddersfield Town
2012–13Doncaster Rovers AFC BournemouthYeovil Town
2013–14Wolverhampton WanderersBrentfordRotherham United
2014–15Bristol City Milton Keynes DonsPreston North End
2015–16Wigan Athletic Burton AlbionBarnsley
2016–17Sheffield UnitedBolton WanderersMillwall
2017–18Wigan Athletic Blackburn RoversRotherham United
2018–19Luton TownBarnsleyCharlton Athletic
2019–20Coventry City
Mark Robins
Rotherham United
Paul Warne
Wycombe Wanderers
Gareth Ainsworth
Ivan Toney (Peterborough United) 24 Goals