BC UNICS is a professional basketball club in Kazan, Russia, that plays in the VTB United League and EuroCup. Their home arena is Basket-Hall Kazan.

Though officially the club’s men’s professional club was founded in 1991, (when it first began to play in the lowest level of the national pro leagues), UNICS traces its origins back to KSU’s college team Burevestnik, which participated in the USSR student championships from 1957, and won the all-Soviet college title twice – in 1965 and 1970. Because of this, the name ‘UNICS’ is quite an abbreviation – UNI(versity), C(ulture), S(port).

In 1997, UNICS was promoted to the Russian Basketball Super League A, which was, at the time, the top-tier level Russian league. A year later, Yevgeny Bogachev, the chairman of the National Bank of the Tatarstan, became the president of the club.


  • Russian Cups
Champions (3): 2003, 2009, 2014
  • EuroCup
Champions (1): 2011
  • EuroChallenge
Champions (1): 2004
  • North European League
Champions (1): 2003

Current roster

2020/2021 Team Roster
(Updated 09-03-2021)
Head Coach : Dimitrios Priftis
John Brown (USA)
Pavel Antipov
Isaiah Canaan (USA)
Georgy Zhbanov
Nate Wolters (USA)
Pavel Sergeev
Artem Klimenko
Dmitrii Uzinskii
Jamar Smith (USA)
Jordan Morgan (USA)
Jordan Theodore (USA)
Aleksandr Razumov
John Holland (USA)
Evgeniy Kolesnikov
Konstantinos Kaimakoglou (Greece)
Egor Kuleshov
Ironi Nahariya (February 2021)
Okaro White (USA)
Zenit St. petersburg (27 February 2021)